I’m a terrible blogger!

It’s February! Where has all that time gone?  Why haven’t I posted? What the heck has been going on?

Well I’ll tell you, a lot. A lot has been going on.

I’ll start where I left off last time. I was offered that job, the one that called me back for a second interview. After 24 agonizing hours, many phone calls by my bosses, and some begging and pleading I ultimately turned it down.

Yes, you read that correctly, I turned down a job offer. There were a lot of reasons for the decision I made, and my husband didn’t agree with many of them, but my gut told me to stay where I was. I still believe it was the right decision.

I have since changed jobs at work. I’m not a full fledged member of the Geek Squad. No more customer service for this girl. Okay, not entirely true. I still work the customer service counter as needed, since my new position is back up to that job. But I’m no longer tethered to that counter. My customer interactions are more limited.  This has been a lot better for me.

By the end of the holidays I was stressed, broken and frazzled.  One person can only be yelled at so many times for things completely out of their control.

“Oh, you dropped your brand new laptop on a concrete floor a week after you bought it? I’m really sorry, but I can’t give you a new one.”

“You’re kids dropped your iPod in the bathtub because they thought it was waterproof? That really sucks, sorry, I can’t give you a new one.”

“You’ve had this television for 8 months and you just decided you don’t like it anymore and want a cheaper one…”

I could go on, I won’t. I would see these types of questions daily.  Get yelled at by angry customers because our “service was terrible” when I turned away their returns for totally legitimate reasons. I had a Sunday were my manager kicked two separate customers out of the store because they started swearing at me and telling me I was horrible person, all because I do my job right. It’s no wonder we can’t keep people in that job.

I’m happier, less stressed and more confident in my job now that I’ve moved on.  Additionally, as part of my agreement to stay in my position, my managers are now putting me on a training path for Supervisor and Management.

Did I go to school to become a big box retail manager? Nope. Is there at all where I thought I would end up? Not at all. But I’m pretty okay with it. I have some new amazing friends I have made through this job. I may complain when I get home, but at work I’m pretty darn happy. I am stressed by the extreme money woe s we face right now, but I’m okay with life right now, which is about all I could ask for.

 

 

Leave a Reply

