I’m pretty sure that butt ain’t natural

The photos have been circulating around the web for quite awhile.  The before and after Photoshop images of celebrities that suddenly make you feel a little better about yourself.

Last week, Britney Spears shocked the media by releasing the untouched photos from her Candies ad campaign.  This week a young and impressionable teen has successfully started a petition demanding that the magazine Seventeen not use photoshopped images.

As a not-so-young woman, I find myself still emotionally battered by the images presented to us through sources we should be able to trust.  I look in the mirror, and on many days, am unsatisfied with the person looking back at me.  My butts too big, I have too dark shadows under my eyes, I need to lose 20 pounds.  As an adult the images still assualt me, but I still remember what it was like to be a teenager, desperate to fit in.

Is it so much to ask that these magazines, tailored to young teenage girls help them with their own body image, instead of making them feel guilty?  It’s impossible to pull off the looks these images project without some serious body reconstruction.  So it’s time to be realistic. Bravo, Britney (a phrase I never thought I would use) for taking this step in helping young girls across the nation feel a little bit better about who they are.

Leave a Reply

